Where does the time go? (1-26-15)

My planner with a picture of my brother Devon (Elder Jacob) in Puerto Rico.

My planner with a picture of my brother Devon (Elder Jacob) in Puerto Rico.

Trip to Guadalajara

Trip to Guadalajara

Fingerprinting for new visas.

Fingerprinting for new visas.

I really don’t know where my time always goes. I never seem to have time to write. Last week we went to Guadalajara to sign visas. I’ve been here in Mexico for a whole year! Last week we also had cambios (transfers) and now we are a companionship of 3 and it’s actually harder than I thought to teach with 3 people; everyone wants to talk at the same time. But we are working on it. Also it’s a little harder to fit into our house. I’ve been humbled to the top bunk.

My companions

My companions

Companions

Companions

My companions

My companions

With the elders last week we had a family night with a few members of the ward.  We talked about all the aspects of self-sufficiency.  It went really well.

Noche de hogar. We talked about being self sufficient and how to resolve problems in our family.

Noche de hogar. We talked about being self sufficient and how to resolve problems in our family.

Nothing super exciting has happened. But we’ve been working hard. We have been working with the sisters in our ward so we can split up and visit more people. We talk to EVERYONE in the streets. We have been given these little handy pass along cards with questions on them like “Do you want to be with your loved ones after this life?” or “How can I learn from the trials in life?” So we walk up to people and ask them to pick a card and read it. Then (they never know the answer) we tell them we want to help them answer it and visit with them in their house. A lot of people let us share a message with them.

We have been working with a family that has problems with the word of wisdom and it’s really amazing to see this message change their lives and their relationship. The dad has problems for alcohol but wants to stop for his daughter, who’s 4 and says she wants nothing to do with him if he keeps drinking. She’s a little sassy. But we talked a lot about prayer and they say them all the time now. Personal and together and we pick little things to work on to help their relationship. Like the dad is going to help cook dinner and set the table and everything then after the prayer they eat together, like we do back at home. Just this little thing has changes a lot and it’s really beautiful.

Sometimes people say they are on their mission to find a certain person. And I feel like I’ve met some of the people that I was supposed to, and I feel like this family is part of the reason in here.

I love you all!

Hermana Jacob

Cumple años of the sister of Hermana Mary.

Cumple años of the sister of Hermana Mary.

 I was her only friend nice enough to help her.

I was her only friend nice enough to help her.

Leave a Reply

