1 Año (11-24-14)

Lazaro sunrise

Lazaro sunrise

The fastest year of my life. The elders were saying that they burn clothes on their 1 year mark, but I think I’d rather just eat lots of cake.

1 Year Birthday!!!

1 Year Birthday!!!

11-24-14 pastel numero uno 2

Second 1 year cake

Second 1 year cake

Thank you Hermana Valdez

Thank you Hermana Valdez

The Monday before my cumpleaño I bought a cheesecake at Walmart and saved it for Thursday; my one year birthday. We ate a little bit of it and then surprise! Hermana Valdez bought me another cake and she had it delivered to the door by a taxi driver. It was a huge cake. The truth is that we finished it in 3 days (With a little help from the elders).  In Mexico when it is your birthday you have to take a bite of the cake with your mouth, and then they shove your face in the cake. Don’t ask me why but that’s what they do so I got the privilege of experiencing this first hand this week.

It was a good birthday.

Cake face

Cake face

Too much cake

Too much cake

I’ve learned a lot in a year. I’ve learned what I want in life and I’ve learned how to be grateful for everything I have. The mission has been really good for me, and I think for every missionary, because we can see the big picture of things; why we are hear and what we need to do and all the blessings we can receive from our Heavenly Father. There are so many people here that are so grateful for what they have, when really they don’t have very much at all. These past few weeks we have had a lot of opportunities to visit people with a lot of problems and really I don’t know if I would be strong enough to be in their position. But it ALWAYS amazes me how they can tell us all their problemas and right after express their gratitude and count their blessings; blessings that I’m not sure we would see as blessings.

Thank you all for your letters every week, they keep me going.

Have a super great Thanksgiving.

Hermana Jacob

Leave a Reply

