Prayer (11-17-14)

The correction stick

The correction stick

Hola!!! This week was great. Super-fast. I’m almost a year old. This week we had conference 2 days with president. I learned a lot of really important things. One being the importance of specific prayers. We can have prayers that are specific and if what we want is in harmony with the will of God we will receive it.

This week I started praying, alone and with my companion to help us find families that are prepared, not just people. And the truth is that I was willing to wait weeks for a result or answer, but this week we found 4 families. One family reads from the bible every night together, but doesn’t have a church they go to because they haven’t found the right one yet.  We met another family that has a baby on the way and they are looking to find a church that teaches what it says in the bible exactly.

So I can say that God listens to our prayers when we are obedient and when we work to help Heavenly Father in His work.

Also today we had an activity of our zone; our president took away the rule that we can’t have them. So today we played volleyball and ate lots of food. Every companionship brought something to share; I took a picture of the Mexican pizza. They all have hot dogs on them.

Zone Activity

Zone Activity

11-17-14 zone activity

FOOD

FOOD

Pizza

Pizza

Also this week I drank cucumber water, which is really good. I also drank water of alfalfa which isn’t quite as good. (That’s the bright green one.)

Alfalfa water

Alfalfa water

I love you all.

Merry Christmas

Hermana Jacob

Two splits (11-10-14)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This week was good, we had 2 splits, and I got to go back to Guacamayas. I got to visit one of my converts, Martin. This made me supppper happy.  He was happy to be able to give us the flowers that he had been saving since his baptism for Hermana Castillo and me. But seeing as she’s not here I got both. But really it was great.

Martin made us flowers out of soda cans.

Martin made us flowers out of soda cans.

We also had a lesson with a Hermano who was baptized Saturday. I wasn’t able to teach him much when I was serving in their ward, but Hermana Castillo and I were the ones who found him and he still remembered us.  The last lesson before his baptism he was talking about how he is ready to accept a calling.  His wife who still hasn’t accepted the gospel told us how much he has changed and how someday she wants to be baptized too. It was another good week, of seeing the fruits of our labors.

Also this week we found a family in our area that is super ready to hear the gospel. They had a lot of questions about our mission and told us how their son who is 21 is going to serve too. It was a good lesson; something prompted me to ask what they wanted to learn from us. The mom and son had a lot of questions about what happens after death and the dad wanted to know why there are so many churches. I really love that we can ask an open question like that and we know that in the gospel we have all the answers.

I love you all so much!

A Super Mexican

A Super Mexican

P.S. I saw a man in the combi dressed up super Mexican and took a picture.

I found a baby duck!

I found a baby duck!

And a baby cow.

And a baby cow.

The combi always makes us fall asleep.

The combi always makes us fall asleep.

Halloween (11-3-14)

Hola familia,

This week I went to Guadalajara again. super fun, we didn’t sleep the night before because Hermana Valdez was afraid of cockroaches climbing on her in the night, because we were sleeping on the floor because the other hermanas here staying with us. So we just slept on the bus.

Also this weekend we had stake conference and a member of the Quorum of the 70 came; Elder Montoya. We talked about the work of salvación. Also Saturday all the members from Zihua came in a bus. I really realized how much I really love the members there. In the conference, came a little family that we reactivated, my converts, and also a family of investigators. Remember the family Chavez? Their son was killed and we found them through a reference. Most of the time that I was there is Zihua the Hermano just wanted to argue about the book of Mormon and how there is no evidence in Mexican history that it’s true and other things that have no relevance. And during all of this the mom was in depression. We worked so hard with them, even though it was frustrating and hard. But Saturday when I saw them I just wanted to cry. Never would I have thought they would come; but they found me and first asked my I abandoned them and then proceeded to tell me that they are all going to be baptized and that they needed to thank me.  They also said that they know it’s true and that Hermana Betti and I had a big part in their lives. This is a moment I will never ever forget. This is why I’m here. The church is true and the plan of salvation is our hope.

Halloween candy
Halloween candy

Also we took a picture of candy that an investigador gave us for Halloween.

I love you all!

Hermana Jacob