Halley in Michoacán (4/7)

 

Again I didn’t have time to read anyone’s emails; I’m sorry. President cut our email time and I had to send in receipts because I have no money.

But this week was good. Hot but good.

Below are some pictures of my last week in Las juntas.

 

Our home

Our home

We met this guy who was building a tree.

We met this guy who was building a tree.

I found the entrance to "Harry Potter's" Diagon Alley

I found the entrance to “Harry Potter’s” Diagon Alley

My old zone.

My old zone.

This week we moved houses so I’ve had to move both times I have come to new areas now. Our new house is one big square room.  It’s like we are playing box car children so it’s pretty fun.

Our new place with the birds who stayed with us the first night.

Our new place with the birds who stayed with us the first night.

Things are definitely different here than in Jalisco, so I’m adjusting. White people are a little more common here, even though I haven’t seen any so far. The attention I get is a little different. Everyone just bluntly talks about my eyes and how they think they are pretty and I’ve gotten 2 wedding proposals.  Here skirts are more common so we aren’t señoritas, we are ninas. This area is more like I imagined Mexico; everyone is pretty poor and there are chickens running around everywhere and we have to be careful mangos don’t fall on our heads.

 

My new favorite food.

My new favorite food.

I got to watch conference in English. In our stake there are 5 American sisters and 3 elders so we were in the Bishop’s office and got to listen in English! It was so great, kind of like Christmas. Obviously the talk by Elder Ballard was my favorite. If you would, maybe you could have a noche hogar on this talk and take his invitation! It would make me so happy.

I love you all and will write more next week.

 

Hermana Jacob

Leave a Reply

