Transfer Number 2 (2/17/14)

My neighborhood

My neighborhood

I didn’t get transferred!!! So I’m happy. However we are in Guadalajara picking up other sisters who do have transfers so I have like no time to write.

2-17 guadalajara2

Guadalajara

Guadalajara

Last night we taught Hermano Severos family, and it went really really well. We don’t have any fetchas (baptism dates) but we are working with them. When I taught about the Holy Ghost and asked them if it’s been different having us there or since their father was baptized they all responded that it was very different. They knew he was talking to missionaries of a church but not much more and he started acting different and treating his wife better and they could all tell something changed. It’s just so crazy how this gospel blesses families and how obvious the Holy Ghost is. I love that we have this gift, sometimes, I guess I am not always aware of it, but when investagadores say they feel something different when we are there I know its because we have the name of Christ and the Spirit. One lady we met when I was trying to buy a skirt let us into her house. And we didn’t even teach the first lesson; we just talked about our message and the blessings that come from it and how it can change her life, and during her prayer at the end she just started crying and said it was because she just felt like this was right. She felt peace and was happy. I know that that is why I’m here. When I have experiences like this I just want to be a missionary forever.

Hno Severo is a taxi driver and the missionaries before me barely started teaching him before I got here. I got to invite him to be baptized. The story is actually kinda cool. we don’t take taxis very often because its more expensive but the hermanas felt like they needed too and talked to him about our message and it changed his life. The spirit directs all the time; as long as we are obedient Heavenly Father will put us where we need to be.

 

Guadalajara Temple

Guadalajara Temple

Hermana Rueda and me in front of Guadalajara Temple

Hermana Rueda and me in front of Guadalajara Temple

This week we had a mission conference with Guadalajara mission. tambien(also) Elder Christensen of the 70 came and talked to us. We got to go to into the temple because there is a conference chapel inside. That was an adventure. I will try to send the photo. Also this week during companion study, we were watching a video of the district and I saw Vivian Suarez and her mom!! Crazy small world we live in.

"The District" starring Vivian Suarez and her mom.

“The District” starring Vivian Suarez and her mom.

Dad, I liked it when you taught seminary; it was always great. And I’m not just saying that. Everyone liked when you would teach. It was a little less strait out of the text book and we actually learned stuff.

I’m super jealous about snowboarding. I could use some snow right now. They say that this heat isn’t even anything and that the next three months are crazy hot.  I kinda don’t know what I’m going to do.

My shoes are great. I sewed on the Velcro and glued the other side to the shoes so they are perfect. I would maybe guess we walk about 2 to 3 miles every day.  Not so much considering our area is really big.  We usually take buses everywhere. Missionaries in other areas walk a lot more and don’t take the bus as much as we do but they have more money for tacos. I hope that will be me on my next transfer.

I haven’t eaten anything really gross yet. I did have a few tacos that I don’t think were super clean and it made me a bit ill, but everything is great. We eat a lotttt of beans and tortillas. And honestly I could be content with just that and some queso every day.  I will make a list of everything I eat and let you know next week.

I love you all,

Hermana Jacob

Me

Me

Beautiful Noemi

Beautiful Noemi

 

Leave a Reply

