Hola from Mexico (1/13/14)

I’m finally here!

The last few days in the MTC were so sad and so happy. There were quite a lot of us leaving. It was so good though. On Monday we flew out and on the 1st plane (to our layover in Arizona) I shared my first gospel message and gave a Book of Mormon.  It really pumped me up.

When we got to Guadalajara, President Camarillo and his wife picked us up and we all went to their house and ate dinner and celebrated Jan 6th with Rosca.

(Rosca (ring or bagel) is a Spanish and Portuguese bread dish eaten in Mexico, South America, and other areas. It is made with flour, salt, sugar, butter, yeast, water and seasonings.

A Mexican rosca de reyes

Roscas de reyes (ring of kings or three King’s bread) is an over sized version colored with candy fruit. It is part of the celebration of the Three Kings. Raisins, milk, anise, cinnamon, vanilla and colorful candy fruit are also used depending on the recipe. A plastic miniature baby can be hidden inside with the person finding it seen as the lucky winner of the prize)

Then we spent the night with a few sisters in the city. Tuesday I met my companera Hermana Rueda. She is great and is so patient with me and my Spanish. Tuesday after the transfer we went right out and taught people. We have 3 investigators and I was able to ask 2 of them to be baptized! It was so great! Our zone is Tlaquepaque and our area is Las Juntas 1.

My 1st Companion - Hermana Rueda

My 1st Companion – Hermana Rueda

We go out and are always busy with referrals, and visiting less actives, investigators, and members.  Everyone always gives us candy and one less active family has 4 puppies, so that’s always my favorite part of the day.

I love puppies.

I love puppies.

Things are definitely different here for sure. It just makes me so grateful for everything I have and everything I’ve always taken for granted, like water, and carpet, and my house. We take buses everywhere. So imagine the bus in the Harry Potter movie, that’s what it’s like, sliding all around and they are squeezing in between other cars and they barely stop to throw people off.  It’s kinda crazy.

Home

Home

home view

I haven’t seen another person con ´´ojos de color´´, so everyone stares at me like I have 3 heads. It takes some getting used too, but at the end of the day I blend in a little more because I’m covered in dirt from the roads.

Today for p-day we did go shopping. I still don’t understand pesos. We took our clothes to a members home who has a washer and then we dry them outside. I will have to get you a picture of that next week.

Today we have to go to Guadalajara to sign my visa extension papers. Sorry that this post is so scattered. I have so many thoughts and I don’t know what to say! I’m glad Devon is doing good and working hard, I knew he would.

Everyone here feeds us, feeds us so much and then also gives us more to take home. So I’m never hungry or thirsty because everyone gives us huge glasses of water or something weird to drink. Strange, but the food is not what I thought it would be and not what we had the first night at the mission president’s house. Nothing is spicy and it doesn’t have much flavor, but it’s healthy.  I hope I don’t get fat from eating so much. We also found a street vendor who was selling ´´kiwi loco/ fro yos´´.  It’s my favorite thing ever.

Fro-Yo

Fro-Yo

 

closeup froyo

There are a million more things I will have to tell you next Monday.  My address will just be the mission home. So send letters to:

Calle 18 de Marzo #3088
Col. Las Águilas
45080 Zapopan, Jalisco
Mexico

Adjusting is hard, so thank you for all your prayers and I know Heavenly Father is here helping me…. so I can do it.

I love you all so much… so so much and thank Heavenly Father everyday for you,

Hermana Jacob

 

Leave a Reply

